General Hospital Fan Club Weekend 2013- Part 1

Sorry I’m a bit late on this one, but back in July, I attended the annual General Hospital Fan Club Weekend at the Sportsmen’s Lodge in Studio City, California. Taking place from Thursday, July 25 through Monday, July 29, this year’s jam-packed events schedule celebrated General Hospital‘s 50 years on the air and included many surprise appearances by former cast members.

Starting off the weekend was the Kickoff Cocktail Party held on Thursday evening. This event was some serious foreshadowing as to what was yet to come. Many stars, past and present; many fans and long lines. It was nice though. I use the Kickoff to get as many stars as I can, that way I can avoid the lines later in the weekend. It’s also a rule of mine to skip any stars that I will be seeing at individual events later on. That’s just a waste of time. Typically, my rule for the weekend is to see new stars first, then old favorites. However, this year I had the newly released 50th Anniversary book to get signed, so I ended up standing in more lines than usual.

Attending stars included Brandon Barash (Johnny), Sean Blakemore (Shawn), Teresa Castillo (Sabrina), Derk Cheetwood (Max), Drew Cheetwood (Milo), Tyler Christopher (Nikolas), Bryan Craig (Morgan), Jimmy Deshler (Rafe), Josh Duhon (Logan), Kathleen Gati (Obrecht), Samantha Logan (Taylor), Lilly Melgar (Lily), Haley Pullos (Molly), Emme Rylan (Lulu), Marc Samuel (Felix), Parry Shen (Brad), Kirsten Storms (Maxie), Kelly Thiebaud (Britt), Constance Towers (Helena), & John J. York (Mac).

John J. York (Mac Scorpio) ~ What a better way to kick things off than with the emcee, the great John J. York? Residing only a few blocks away from the venue, John was naturally the first to arrive after a long day of taping Mac & Felicia's wedding shows.

John J. York (Mac Scorpio) ~ What a better way to kick things off than with the emcee, the great John J. York? Residing only a few blocks away from the venue, John was naturally the first to arrive after a long day of taping Mac & Felicia’s wedding shows.

Lilly Melgar (Lily Rivera Corinthos) ~ As with many of the past cast members this weekend, Lilly was well a part of the past by the time I began attending FCW. She was present throughout the weekend with her cosmetics line.

Lilly Melgar (Lily Rivera Corinthos) ~ As with many of the past cast members this weekend, Lilly was well a part of the past by the time I began attending FCW. She was present throughout the weekend with her cosmetics line.

Samantha Logan (Taylor DuBois) ~ Fans flock to the newbies, that's just the way it is. Luckily though, Taylor's line was the shortest, maybe it really wasn't but it looked that way when next to the lovely Constance Towers...

Samantha Logan (Taylor DuBois) ~ Fans flock to the newbies, that’s just the way it is. Luckily though, Taylor’s line was the shortest, maybe it really wasn’t but it looked that way when next to the lovely Constance Towers…

Constance Towers (Helena Cassadine) ~ The lovely, gracious, and captivating matriarch was taking off for vacation in the morning, but she always has time for her GH fans. She was one of the first to arrive and stood, in heels, almost the entire evening! She had just signed a few photos for me through the mail, so we just got an updated photo together.

Constance Towers (Helena Cassadine) ~ The lovely, gracious, and captivating matriarch was taking off for vacation in the morning, but she always has time for her GH fans. She was one of the first to arrive and stood, in heels, almost the entire evening! She had just signed a few photos for me through the mail, so we just got an updated photo together.

Parry Shen (Brad Cooper) ~ Another newbie to the FCW scene, Parry too had a short line. Maybe because they had run out of room along the perimeter and he was casually sitting at one of the reception tables.

Parry Shen (Brad Cooper) ~ Another newbie to the FCW scene, Parry too had a short line. Maybe because they had run out of room along the perimeter and he was casually sitting at one of the reception tables.

Josh Duhon (Logan Hayes) ~ Josh had just popped in to drop some photos off to Jim Warren, but he was quickly sucked into staying for autographs and photos.

Josh Duhon (Logan Hayes) ~ Josh had just popped in to drop some photos off to Jim Warren, but he was quickly sucked into staying for autographs and photos. I could tell he was itching to leave, so I just got a quick photo.

Kathleen Gati (Dr. Liesl Obrecht) ~ You'll have to double check with Kathleen, but I believe I was the first fan she met at her very first FCW. That's a bonding moment right there.

Kathleen Gati (Dr. Liesl Obrecht) ~ You’ll have to double check with Kathleen, but I believe I was the first fan she met at her very first FCW. That’s a bonding moment right there.

Emme Rylan (Lulu Spencer-Falconeri) ~ I was quick to tell this bubbling little beauty that her predecessor used to kiss me in photos. Naturally, Emme followed suit.

Emme Rylan (Lulu Spencer-Falconeri) ~ I was quick to tell this bubbling little beauty that her predecessor used to kiss me in photos. Naturally, Emme followed suit.

Marc Anthony Samuel (Felix DuBois) ~ I'm not kidding when I say there were a lot of newbies. Like Constance, Marc was on his way out of town and made sure to make some time for the fans before leaving.

Marc Anthony Samuel (Felix DuBois) ~ I’m not kidding when I say there were a lot of newbies. Like Constance, Marc was on his way out of town and made sure to make some time for the fans before leaving.

Sean Blakemore (Shawn Butler) ~ Always a quiet, but considerate man, Sean too was heading on vacation and this was the only event he could make it too.

Sean Blakemore (Shawn Butler) ~ Always a quiet, but considerate man, Sean too was heading on vacation and this was the only event he could make it too.

Teresa Castillo (Sabrina Santiago) ~ I fly cross country for this event and do I leave mark? Well Teresa tweeted me later that night about my Kermit the Frog tote bag, so I guess I did. Did I mention Teresa is a newbie too?

Teresa Castillo (Sabrina Santiago) ~ I fly cross country for this event and do I leave mark? Well Teresa tweeted me later that night about my Kermit the Frog tote bag, so I guess I did. Did I mention Teresa is a newbie too?

Haley Pullos (Molly Lansing) ~ I knew Haley would show up, she always does, albeit this year she came quite late into the evening. We got our annual picture of course.

Haley Pullos (Molly Lansing) ~ I knew Haley would show up, she always does, albeit this year she came quite late into the evening. We got our annual picture of course.

Jimmy Deshler (Rafe Kovich) ~ Poor Jimmy, another newbie, he and Haley were swarmed when they arrived. He must not have known what to think.

Jimmy Deshler (Rafe Kovich) ~ Poor Jimmy, another newbie, he and Haley were swarmed when they arrived. He must not have known what to think.

So I got 13 stars out of the way. Not a bad start at all. Other events taking place on Thursday evening were Nancy Lee Grahn’s, Rebecca Herbst’s Soiree, and Derk & Drew Cheetwood’s. I skipped them all and instead got as much sleep as I could before the extreme craziness began.

Part Two (Friday): https://ericscelebrityencounters.wordpress.com/2013/09/18/general-hospital-fan-club-weekend-2013-part-2/

Part Three (Saturday): https://ericscelebrityencounters.wordpress.com/2013/09/18/general-hospital-fan-club-weekend-part-3/

Part Four (Sunday): https://ericscelebrityencounters.wordpress.com/2013/09/18/general-hospital-fan-club-weekend-2013-part-4/

Part Five (Monday): https://ericscelebrityencounters.wordpress.com/2013/09/18/general-hospital-fan-club-weekend-2013-part-5/

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

