Boston Super Megafest 2013

On Saturday, November 23, I took a ride up to Framingham, Mass, to attend my first ever Super Megafest, a show held annually. I only needed to see a handful of celebrities, so I knew this would be a quick visit for me. When I arrived, I was promptly checked in by show staff and all of us advanced ticket holders were herded into a dining room until doors opened at 9:30. I must admit that was a hell of a lot better than standing out in the cold.

I went downstairs to where I Dream of Jeannie stars Barbara Eden & Bill Daily were supposed to be. They weren’t expected to arrive until 10:30, so I went upstairs and caught up with a familiar face to the autograph circuit, Caroll Spinney, the man who has brought Big Bird & Oscar the Grouch to life on Sesame Street for 45 seasons. While I usually just chat with Caroll and get a picture, I bought one of his pieces of artwork, a holiday sketch featuring Big Bird & Oscar.

Caroll Spinney

Caroll Spinney- Turning 80 in December!!!

I then went over to Ronn Moss, the longtime star of The Bold and the Beautiful. Ronn, who attended the show with his wife Playboy Playmate Devin DeVasquez, played Ridge Forrester on the serial for over 25 years. He departed last year and the role will be recast with Thorsten Kaye in the near future.

Ronn Moss

Ronn Moss

I then headed back downstairs where legendary adult film star Ron Jeremy was setting up his table. A lot can be said about Ron Jeremy, but I’ll just let this innuendo filled picture do all the talking.

Ron Jeremy

Ron Jeremy

At this point, it was 10:30, and Bill Daily had arrived downstairs as expected. The only problem was that the 86 year old Mr. Daily was unaccompanied and lost as to where to go. I noticed this and quickly pointed him in the right direction. Much to the dismay of fans, it was announced that no photos would be allowed of Ms. Eden & Mr. Daily, but a photo op, taking place at almost 5:00 PM, was required. Having met both Barbara & Bill several times over the years, I found this to be an odd first, as both were always very photo friendly. Anyways, Barbara arrived around 11:00, and the line slowly began to move. I opted to purchase a $10 11×17 poster created by one of the members of Team Eden. The poster was limited to 100 numbered copies, of which I received #16. Both Barbara & Bill signed it, and were lovely & gracious as always. Bill was very apologetic about the ‘no photo’ policy. You could just tell it was breaking his heart and that he was ordered to do this by someone else.

The limited edition poster created especially for the event. (Courtesy of Barbara Eden's Official Facebook)

The limited edition poster created especially for the event. (Courtesy of Barbara Eden’s Official Facebook)

I then headed upstairs to the concession area set up by the Sheraton Framingham staff. I enjoyed a couple of hot dogs and got to chat with fellow attendees before heading home. A very small show for me, I will most likely attend again in the future, despite some disorganization and a major lack of communication on the show’s part.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

