General Hospital Fan Club Weekend 2014- Part 3

Saturday is the biggest day of the weekend and is consumed mostly by the Main Event. Hosted by 23 year veteran John J. York, this event is attended by pretty much the entire current cast, and there seems to be more of them each year. Not sure if I touched based on this before, but fan attendance was down by nearly 50% from last year’s events. Last year’s Main Event had about 600 fans, this year, maybe only 300. While that is certainly not a good thing from a business point of view, it gave those of us in attendance a better chance at getting to see all of our favorites, as well as the pleasure of short lines, something that was alien in previous years.

In addition to emcee John J. York (Mac), who stopped at my table during his walk to the stage to give me a hug, actors in attendance were: Kristen Alderson (Kiki), Vinessa Antoine (Jordan), Sean Blakemore (Shawn), Ian Buchanan (Duke), Ryan Carnes (Lucas), Teresa Castillo (Sabrina), Drew Cheetwood (Milo), Bryan Craig (Morgan), Jimmy Deshler (ex Rafe), William deVry (Julian), Chad Duell (Michael), Michael Easton (Silas), Zachary Garred (Levi), Kathleen Gati (Obrecht), Rick Hearst (Ric), Lynn Herring (Lucy), Jaxon & Jakob Kring (Danny), Jon Lindstrom (Kevin), Lisa LoCicero (Olivia), Donna Mills (Madeline), Hannah Nordberg (Josslyn), Jeffrey Parise (Carlos), Thaao Penghlis (Victor), Haley Pullos (Molly), Emme Rylan (Lulu), Marc Samuel (Felix), Parry Shen (Brad), Kin Shriner (Scott), Brooklyn Silzer (Emma), Michelle Stafford (Nina), Kirsten Storms (Maxie), Kelly Thiebaud (Britt), Jason Thompson (Patrick), Linda Tovar (Rosalie), Maura West (Ava), Laura Wright (Carly), Dominic Zamprogna (Dante), & Jacklyn Zeman (Bobbie). Executive Producer Frank Valentini was also there to field questions and meet the fans; former cast member Brandon Barash (Johnny) was there with wife Kirsten Storms; and All My Children veteran Cady McClain (Dixie) accompanied her husband, Jon Lindstrom.

Michelle Stafford (Nina Clay) ~ I had heard mixed things about Michelle, but I found her to be one of the sweetest people in attendance. Glad I had the chance to meet her.

Michelle Stafford (Nina Clay) ~ I had heard mixed things about Michelle, but I found her to be one of the sweetest people in attendance. Glad I had the chance to meet her.

Donna Mills (Madeline Reeves) ~ I had the feeling Donna would leave early, and sure enough, they cut her line off right after us. What can I say about this timeless actress? She was flawless in my eyes.

Donna Mills (Madeline Reeves) ~ I had the feeling Donna would leave early, and sure enough, they cut her line off right after us. What can I say about this timeless actress? She was flawless in my eyes.

John J. York (Mac Scorpio) ~ No matter how stressed out I am and where I'm running to, I always take the time to stop by for a hug and picture with my buddy John.

John J. York (Mac Scorpio) ~ No matter how stressed out I am and where I’m running to, I always take the time to stop by for a hug and picture with my buddy John.

Hannah Nordberg (Josslyn Jacks) & Brooklyn Rae Silzer (Emma Drake) ~ Talk about a couple of gems. Thumbs up to Mark Teschner for finding & hiring these two little ladies.

Hannah Nordberg (Josslyn Jacks) & Brooklyn Rae Silzer (Emma Drake) ~ Talk about a couple of gems. Thumbs up to Mark Teschner for finding & hiring these two little ladies.

Jackie Zeman (Bobbie Spencer) ~ Another longtime fan favorite, I'm proud to have Jackie representing us Bergen County natives on GH.

Jackie Zeman (Bobbie Spencer) ~ Another longtime fan favorite, I’m proud to have Jackie representing us Bergen County natives on GH.

Jon Lindstrom (Kevin Collins) & Cady McClain (Dixie Martin, AMC) ~ I've wanted to meet Jon for years now, and having Cady with him was an added bonus.

Jon Lindstrom (Kevin Collins) & Cady McClain (Dixie Martin, AMC) ~ I’ve wanted to meet Jon for years now, and having Cady with him was an added bonus.

Thaao Penghlis (Victor Cassadine) ~ I absolutely adored Thaao when he played Tony on DAYS, so I am very happy to have him back home on GH.

Thaao Penghlis (Victor Cassadine) ~ I absolutely adored Thaao when he played Tony on DAYS, so I am very happy to have him back home on GH.

Maura West (Ava Jerome) ~ Kudos to Ms. West for giving out 8x10s, you're a hot commodity at FCW if you do that!!!

Maura West (Ava Jerome) ~ Kudos to Ms. West for giving out 8x10s, you’re a hot commodity at FCW if you do that!!!

Zachary Garred (Levi Dunkleman) ~ Zachary, sporting his new haircut, told me to write to him for photos, but after the event, he ran down to Walgreens, printed up a batch and brought them back for fans!

Zachary Garred (Levi Dunkleman) ~ Zachary, sporting his new haircut, told me to write to him for photos, but after the event, he ran down to Walgreens, printed up a batch and brought them back for fans!

Jeffrey Vincent Parise (Carlos Rivera) ~ All I can say is, Free Carlos!

Jeffrey Vincent Parise (Carlos Rivera) ~ All I can say is, Free Carlos!

This is what victory looks like. Having accomplished my mission and gotten everyone I needed, I was congratulated with a hug by Mr. Parise.

This is what victory looks like. Having accomplished my mission and gotten everyone I needed, I was congratulated with a hug by Mr. Parise.

After the Main Event, I had a little bit of downtime which was spent in the air conditioned room that Michael Easton’s event would be held in. Having been a Jim Warren event, I was put to work helping out with line control. At this point in the day, everyone was hot, exhausted, and had just been royally snubbed by Knots Landing star William Devane, but that’s another story.  This event may have been one of the most popular ones the weekend had to offer as Michael rarely holds his own events.

Michael Easton (Silas Clay) ~ After 8 years of attending GH & OLTL events, I finally met Michael Easton, and it was well worth the wait.

Michael Easton (Silas Clay) ~ After 8 years of attending GH & OLTL events, I finally met Michael Easton, and it was well worth the wait.

Now I had a few hours of downtime before going over to Kelly Sullivan (ex Connie) & Julie Berman’s (ex Lulu) event, An Evening with Jules and Kel, Part Deux. This event was run by Debby O’Connor, so I lent a hand doing registration and opted to sit in the back where I had more room as opposed to one of the crowded tables. Despite neither being a part of the show any longer, this was a highly attended event. They had many special guests- Jimmy Deshler (Rafe), William deVry (Julian), Jeffrey Parise (Carlos), Haley Pullos (Molly), Jason Thompson (Patrick), & Dominic Zamprogna (Dante). While deVry was the only one of their guests to stay for the autograph & photo session, I was able to get him to sign my 50th Anniversary book while he was briefly there.

Haley, Jimmy, Kelly, Julie, & William

Haley, Jimmy, Kelly, Julie, & William

Julie, William, Kelly, Dominic, Jeffrey, & Jason

Julie, William, Kelly, Dominic, Jeffrey, & Jason

William deVry (Julian Jerome) ~ Mr. deVry checks in on me while I'm calling out the winners of the raffle prizes.

William deVry (Julian Jerome) ~ Mr. deVry checks in on me while I’m calling out the winners of the raffle prizes.

Julie Marie Berman (ex Lulu Spencer-Falconeri) ~ I don't think I've seen Julie since January 2013, so I had accumulated a couple of things for her to sign.

Julie Marie Berman (ex Lulu Spencer-Falconeri) ~ I don’t think I’ve seen Julie since January 2013, so I had accumulated a couple of things for her to sign.

Kelly Sullivan (Connie Falconeri) ~ The ongoing joke at events for a couple of years now is that I'm Kelly's boyfriend, Eric, so we like to live up to the role.

Kelly Sullivan (Connie Falconeri) ~ The ongoing joke at events for a couple of years now is that I’m Kelly’s boyfriend, Eric, so we like to live up to the role.

At some point during this busy event, I ran over to the room where Ryan Paevey (Nathan) was holding his event. Ryan didn’t attend the Main Event, so Jim Warren let me run in for a quick photograph and an autograph. Zachary Garred (Levi) also attended and brought along the photos that he had told me to write to him for, so that was an added bonus.

Ryan Paevey (Nathan West) ~ I wasn't there for his Q&A, but I can only imagine some of the things that the female fans had to say to this GH hunk.

Ryan Paevey (Nathan West) ~ I wasn’t there for his Q&A, but I can only imagine some of the things that the female fans had to say to this GH hunk.

After a couple of nights with little sleep, I was easily out like a light on Saturday after an event filled day.

Part One (Thursday): https://ericscelebrityencounters.wordpress.com/2014/08/06/general-hospital-fan-club-weekend-2014-part-1/

Part Two (Friday): https://ericscelebrityencounters.wordpress.com/2014/08/06/general-hospital-fan-club-weekend-2014-part-2/

Part Four (Sunday): https://ericscelebrityencounters.wordpress.com/2014/08/06/general-hospital-fan-club-weekend-2014-part-4/

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

