Soap Fantasy Reunion

Even though I was still recovering from Friday night’s trip to Chiller, I spent Sunday just a few miles down the road at the Ramada Inn for Soap Fantasy Reunion, an event bringing together former soap stars from the ABC Daytime soap operas (All My Children, General Hospital, and One Life to Live). The event was a part of Dino Ibelli & Linda Rohe’s brainchild Soap Fantasy series, semi-annual events themed towards bringing a different group of soap stars to the NY/NJ area. Originally just supposed to be eight actors, the guest list wound up at 11, with 10 making the final cut.

Attending stars included: Bradford Anderson (Damian Spinelli, GH); Tamara Braun (Carly Corinthos, GH; Reese Williams, AMC); Vincent Irizarry (Dr. David Hayward, AMC); Natalia Livingston (Emily Quartermaine, GH); Cameron Mathison (Ryan Lavery, AMC); Alicia Minshew (Kendall Hart Slater, AMC); Scott Reeves (Dr. Steven Lars Webber, GH); Kelly Sullivan (Connie Falconeri, GH); Gina Tognoni (Kelly Cramer, OLTL); and Darnell Williams (Jesse Hubbard, AMC; Jacob Foster, Loving/The City). The one cancellation was Vanessa Marcil (Brenda Barrett, GH), who was under the weather.

Bradford Anderson (Spinelli, GH) ~ I've lost count of how many times I've met Bradford. While he may no longer be on GH, he's still so involved with the show's fans that it feels like he's still a part of it all.

Bradford Anderson (Spinelli, GH) ~ I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve met Bradford. While he may no longer be on GH, he’s still so involved with the show’s fans that it feels like he’s still a part of it all.

Natalia Livingston ~ Growing up, I never really had a big family, so I kind of adopted GH's Quartermaines as my TV family, so Natalia was a huge part of growing up. Why they ever killed Emily off and let this talent go is beyond me.

Natalia Livingston ~ Growing up, I never really had a big family, so I kind of adopted GH’s Quartermaines as my TV family, so Natalia was a huge part of growing up. Why they ever killed Emily off and let this talent go is beyond me.

Scott Reeves ~ Another fan favorite who has never really left the fans' lives. Met Scott too many times to count, even met his entire family, to whom I sent my regards.

Scott Reeves ~ Another fan favorite who has never really left the fans’ lives. Met Scott too many times to count, even met his entire family, to whom I sent my regards.

Tamara Braun ~ I've watched GH since 1999, but can only remember as far back as 2001, which was when this beauty debuted. She was the first member of the cast I ever had a crush on.

Tamara Braun ~ I’ve watched GH since 1999, but can only remember as far back as 2001, which was when this beauty debuted. She was the first member of the cast I ever had a crush on.

Gina Tognoni ~ I've met Gina a couple of times, always has a different hair color, but is always super nice, grateful for the fans, and a Jersey girl, which makes her 100x greater in my book.

Gina Tognoni ~ I’ve met Gina a couple of times, always has a different hair color, but is always super nice, grateful for the fans, and a Jersey girl, which makes her 100x greater in my book.

Kelly Sullivan ~ If I had to pick a TV girlfriend, here she is. To any of my regular readers, Kelly & I have a great relationship, and she's another actress who was slighted by the producers of GH.

Kelly Sullivan ~ If I had to pick a TV girlfriend, here she is. To any of my regular readers, Kelly & I have a great relationship, and she’s another actress who was slighted by the producers of GH.

Darnell Williams ~ I've met Darnell quite a few times at this point, and every time, he gets nicer and nicer. And talk about a Daytime legend. Jesse Hubbard was a household name.

Darnell Williams ~ I’ve met Darnell quite a few times at this point, and every time, he gets nicer and nicer. And talk about a Daytime legend. Jesse Hubbard was a household name.

Alicia Minshew ~ First time meeting this beauty, although she recognized me from being around the fan scene for so long. You can't tell in this picture, but her waist is about the size of my fist.

Alicia Minshew ~ First time meeting this beauty, although she recognized me from being around the fan scene for so long. You can’t tell in this picture, but her waist is about the size of my fist.

Vincent Irizarry ~ He was the AMC villain that the audience loved to hate, Dr. David. I was lucky enough that Vincent retold one of my stories, the one where he met AMC legend James Mitchell "Palmer Cortlandt" for the first time in 1984.

Vincent Irizarry ~ He was the AMC villain that the audience loved to hate, Dr. David. I was lucky enough that Vincent retold one of my stories, the one where he met AMC legend James Mitchell “Palmer Cortlandt” for the first time in 1984.

Cameron Mathison ~ No matter how nice Cameron has always been to me, in the back of my mind, I'm hearing my grandmother's voice complaining about him being on Dancing with the Stars.

Cameron Mathison ~ No matter how nice Cameron has always been to me, in the back of my mind, I’m hearing my grandmother’s voice complaining about him being on Dancing with the Stars.

The event began with the day’s hosts, Vincent & Kelly, bringing out the rest of the gang for a photo & autograph session. The stars were great and signed everything that the fans put out in front of them. I had a few things for myself and some photos that my good friend, Wayne, sent me to get signed for him. And when it came to posing for pictures, the stars did group shots, solo shots, selfies, etc., whatever the fans wanted. Bradford then ran around the room taking fans’ questions for the Q&A portion. The Q&A never got boring, nor did any of the actors give long, drawn-out tiresome answers. And I’ll even commend the fans for asking some great questions. Certainly one of the best ones I have attended.

The Q&A

The Q&A

The event was capped off with a live auction and a raffle prize drawing, in which I won two platinum tickets for the next Fantasy event, a Men of GH event in April, so look forward to reading about that then. Again, a special thanks to the 10 stars, Dino, Linda, Paula, and to the amazing people at the charity (their name escapes me right now, sorry), who came out and raised money for the kids. It’s a great cause.

Bradford & Scott setting up the A/V equipment on their own shows you how "helpful" the staff at the Ramada was...

Bradford & Scott setting up the A/V equipment on their own shows you how “helpful” the staff at the Ramada was…

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

