Monster-Mania Con 31

On Friday, July 31st, I made the two hour drive down to the Cherry Hill Crowne Plaza for Monster-Mania Con 31, Philadelphia’s semi-annual horror film and memorabilia convention. I’m not always able to make this show, but I am always glad to do so as their prices are typically lower than other area shows and that makes it worth the drive. I didn’t need too many people, just four, which turned into five.

The headliners were Scream stars Neve Campbell and Skeet Ulrich. Neither really mean much to me, and were not supposed to be doing table photos, so I opted out on them. Neve’s $75 price tag for an autograph was also just a little more than I like to pay at these. So while the two headliners were out for me, I moved down the list and got some of the more budget friendly stars. Malcom McDowell and Brad Dourif are already in the collection, and the Godzilla and Walking Dead stars mean nothing to me. I ended up getting Halloween franchise stars Danielle Harris and George P. Wilbur, X-Files and Dallas star Mitch Pileggi, Cheers‘ very own “NORM!!!” George Wendt, and character actor Gerrit Graham. Unfortunately, the show was overcome with sadness when the news of former fan favorite guest “Rowdy” Roddy Piper had passed away. Piper was a guest at the show less than a year ago.

Mitch Pileggi ~ Starred as Skinner on "The X-Files," I know Mitch from his recent run as Harris Ryland on "Dallas". Mitch was great with the fans and a wonderful storyteller. He kept going on and one about different work anecdotes, and I felt bad I was holding up the line, but then I noticed how captivated everyone was by his stories.

Mitch Pileggi ~ Starred as Skinner on “The X-Files,” I know Mitch from his recent run as Harris Ryland on “Dallas“. Mitch was great with the fans and a wonderful storyteller. He kept going on and one about different work anecdotes, and I felt bad I was holding up the line, but then I noticed how captivated everyone was by his stories.

George Wendt ~ "NORM!!!" I don't think anyone can look at Mr. Wendt or think of "Cheers" without hearing or shouting aloud the popular series' catchphrase. A man of very few words, George thanked me for coming to the show and asked that I check out his new series "Clipped" on TBS.

George Wendt ~ “NORM!!!” I don’t think anyone can look at Mr. Wendt or think of “Cheers” without hearing or shouting aloud the popular series’ catchphrase. A man of very few words, George thanked me for coming to the show and asked that I check out his new series “Clipped” on TBS.

George P. Wilbur ~ George was the first person to play the iconic role of Michael Myers in the Halloween franchise twice. An old regular on the horror show circuit, George did not have much of a line, which was nice for me because we had the chance to talk a lot. I thanked him for having Donald Pleasence on his banner. I found that quite admirable.

George P. Wilbur ~ George was the first person to play the iconic role of Michael Myers in the Halloween franchise twice. An old regular on the horror show circuit, George did not have much of a line, which was nice for me because we had the chance to talk a lot. I thanked him for having Donald Pleasence on his banner. I found that quite admirable.

Danielle Harris ~ This beauty appeared in four of the Halloween films, two of the originals, and the two remakes. The last time Danielle did this show, March 2013, I was unable to attend and my mother got me an autograph for my collection. Then Danielle announced her retirement from the show circuit, but luckily that did not last long and I finally got to meet her. She was a sweetheart, and I got a sexy 8x10 shot for the collection.

Danielle Harris ~ This beauty appeared in four of the Halloween films, two of the originals, and the two remakes. The last time Danielle did this show, March 2013, I was unable to attend and my mother got me an autograph for my collection. Then Danielle announced her retirement from the show circuit, but luckily that did not last long and I finally got to meet her. She was a sweetheart, and I got a sexy 8×10 shot for the collection.

Gerrit Graham ~ Last up for the night was this storied character actor. You may not know the name or recognize him these days, but Gerrit has had quite the film career appearing in over 120 movies and TV shows. We chatted about his stint at George Kennedy's right-hand man, Phil Hughes, on "Dallas." When he asked me which "Dallas" stars I've already met, Gerrit remarked "Larry Hagman, great guy, but he was nuts!"

Gerrit Graham ~ Last up for the night was this storied character actor. You may not know the name or recognize him these days, but Gerrit has had quite the film career appearing in over 120 movies and TV shows. We chatted about his stint at George Kennedy’s right-hand man, Phil Hughes, on “Dallas.” When he asked me which “Dallas” stars I’ve already met, Gerrit remarked “Larry Hagman, great guy, but he was nuts!”

Another successful show, I was out the door within an hour, and had money left for dinner at The Cheesecake Factory!!! Major win!!! Special thanks as always to Dave and the MM family. Hope I can attend again real soon.

Look for my upcoming annual pilgrimage to California for General Hospital Fan Club Weekend to be posted later this week!!!

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Monster-Mania Con 31”

  1. Danielle says :

    Very nice pic with Danielle Harris!

Leave a Reply

