General Hospital Fan Club Weekend 2015- Part 3

I woke up bright and early on Saturday morning to prepare for the flagship FCW event, the Main Cast Event. With registration beginning at 9 and doors opening at 10, I met up with my good buddy Wayne for breakfast at Conrad’s at 7:30. I’ll admit, I was worried with how many actors would come, especially after Thursday night’s poor turnout. With a much smaller events venue, I wasn’t sure how they would fit everyone. Lunch was to be served in the main ballroom with the cast moving out into the hallway, atrium, and other smaller rooms to do autographs and pictures. I never got an exact number of attendees, but I was told it was somewhere between 300-350. This year’s gift given to all attendees was a signed 4×6 photo of Anthony Geary, something I would much rather have than yet another coffee mug.

While we anxiously waited for the cast to arrive, raffles, silent auctions, and live auctions consumed us. I paid $120 for Luke Spencer’s “Dr. Von Scheemerman” disguise worn by the legendary Anthony Geary. Warming up the crowd, longtime GH boom operator Sandy Masone came out to applause. With GH since 1977, Sandy is the GH mascot, beloved by cast, crew, and fans.

Sandy Masone (Longtime GH crew member) ~ Present for the live auction, when Anthony Geary's shirts sold for no less than $600, Sandy remarked,

Sandy Masone (Longtime GH crew member) ~ Present for the live auction, when Anthony Geary’s shirts sold for no less than $600, Sandy remarked, “If I had known what people would pay for Tony’s clothes, I would have stolen his underwear when I was in Amsterdam last month. I’d be a f***ing millionaire.”

As usual, the cast had quit a difficult time assembling themselves for the Introductions. Typically hosted by John J. York, John was MIA this year and the cast efficiently introduced each other. My fears were calmed when 34 cast members and Executive Producer Frank Valentini came out to thunderous applause. Stars in attendance were (in alphabetical order) Vinessa Antoine (Jordan), Brandon Barash (Johnny), Nicolas Bechtel (Spencer), Maurice Benard (Sonny), Rebecca Budig (Hayden), Ryan Carnes (Lucas), Teresa Castillo (Sabrina), Bryan Craig (Morgan), William deVry (Julian), Chad Duell (Michael), Sonya Eddy (Epiphany), Hayley Erin (Kiki), Kathleen Gati (Obrecht), Rick Hearst (Ric), Finola Hughes (Anna), Lisa LoCicero (Olivia), Ryan Paevey (Nathan), Jeffrey Vincent Parise (Carlos), Haley Pullos (Molly), Tequan Richmond (TJ), Emme Rylan (Lulu), Marc Anthony Samuel (Felix), Brytni Sarpy (Valerie), Parry Shen (Brad), Kin Shriner (Scott), Brooklyn Silzer (Emma), Michelle Stafford (Nina), Kirsten Storms (Maxie), Jason Thompson (Patrick), Elena Tovar (Rosalie), Robert Palmer Watkins (Dillon), Maura West (Ava), Laura Wright (Carly), and Dominic Zamprogna (Dante).

The Q&A underway

The Q&A underway

Ryan Carnes & Marc Samuel hosted the Q&A. The first question/comment was directed at Frank Valentini and was in regards to Michael Easton’s firing. I felt the comment was in poor taste, as did Laura Wright, who intervened and put the angry fan in her place. That was really the only fire ignited durig the Q&A. Ryan & Marc kept things brief allowing more time for autographs and photos. Amazingly, I had previously met everyone present, so unlike years past where I was stressed and running around, I just moseyed along table to table and got who I could. New mother Lisa LoCicero left during the Q&A to get home to her new daughter. And Dominic Zamprogna, who was absent for the Q&A, came in time for the meet and greet. Unsurprisingly, Rebecca Budig made a beeline for the exit, whilst a ton of fans lined up unsuspectingly at her table.

Finola Hughes (Anna Devane) ~ What better way to start than with 30 year veteran Finola Hughes? I was happy to see Finola attend, as I had an 8x10 cast photo that needed her signature to complete it.

Finola Hughes (Anna Devane) ~ What better way to start than with 30 year veteran Finola Hughes? I was happy to see Finola attend, as I had an 8×10 cast photo that needed her signature to complete it.

Rick Hearst (Ric Lansing) ~ I've met him more times than I can count, and I know I say this every time, but Rick is just the nicest guy in the world, a man I'm privileged to call a friend.

Rick Hearst (Ric Lansing) ~ I’ve met him more times than I can count, and I know I say this every time, but Rick is just the nicest guy in the world, a man I’m privileged to call a friend.

Kin Shriner (Scott Baldwin) ~ A man who really needs no introduction, the 38-year veteran is my favorite GH star. He opted to do his meet & greet roaming the area, as opposed to the table they had set up for him.

Kin Shriner (Scott Baldwin) ~ A man who really needs no introduction, the 38-year veteran is my favorite GH star. He opted to do his meet & greet roaming the area, as opposed to the table they had set up for him.

Kathleen Gati (Dr. Liesl Obrecht) ~ Kathleen is Rick Hearst's female contemporary, the sweetest woman in the world. I'm very lucky to call her and husband Michael, my friends.

Kathleen Gati (Dr. Liesl Obrecht) ~ Kathleen is Rick Hearst’s female contemporary, the sweetest woman in the world. I’m very lucky to call her and husband Michael, my friends.

Vinessa Antoine (Jordan Ashford) ~ I may not tweet her or praise her very often, but Vinessa and I have a special little bond. I was the first fan she met at her first GH event. She says I hold a little place in her heart for that.

Vinessa Antoine (Jordan Ashford) ~ I may not tweet her or praise her very often, but Vinessa and I have a special little bond. I was the first fan she met at her first GH event. She says I hold a little place in her heart for that.

Tequan Richmond (TJ Ashford) ~ Met Tequan back at his first FCW in 2013, then skipped him last year. Thought now would be a good time for an updated photo and for a signed 8x10 which for some reason, I never got until this year.

Tequan Richmond (TJ Ashford) ~ Met Tequan back at his first FCW in 2013, then skipped him last year. Thought now would be a good time for an updated photo and for a signed 8×10 which for some reason, I never got until this year.

Haley got in on the fun and joined Tequan and I for a photo. He joked she was a much better addition than the security guard who can be seen in the back of our previous photo.

Haley got in on the fun and joined Tequan and I for a photo. He joked she was a much better addition than the security guard who can be seen in the back of our previous photo.

Ryan Carnes (Dr. Lucas Jones) ~ Ryan's a very quiet guy, but has a great memory. We rarely tweet or see each other, but he knew me by name and tweeted me later that night to say he hopes to see me at his NJ event with Jackie Zeman next month.

Ryan Carnes (Dr. Lucas Jones) ~ Ryan’s a very quiet guy, but has a great memory. We rarely tweet or see each other, but he knew me by name and tweeted me later that night to say he hopes to see me at his NJ event with Jackie Zeman next month.

Elena Tovar (Rosalie Martinez) ~ Another star, whom I've only met once and can never remember tweeting with, Elena looked at me when I got to her and said,

Elena Tovar (Rosalie Martinez) ~ Another star whom I’ve only met once and can never remember tweeting with, Elena looked at me when I got to her and said, “I hope this picture turns out better than the one we took last year.”

Chad Duell (Michael Quartermaine) ~ Chad was a little taken aback when he said to me,

Chad Duell (Michael Quartermaine) ~ Chad was a little taken aback when he said to me, “You’re a veteran of these. You come every year,” to which I replied, “If I’m a veteran, so are you. We both started attending the same year.”

Executive Producer Frank Valentini ~ When I got to Frank last year, he only had time to sign an autograph, so it was nice to get the picture and let him know how much I love the Quartermaines and other veteran characters.

Executive Producer Frank Valentini ~ When I got to Frank last year, he only had time to sign an autograph, so it was nice to get the picture and let him know how much I love the Quartermaines and other veteran characters.

Parry Shen (Brad Cooper) ~ Years ago, Parry and I had a little Twitter spat, but that is behind us and we are always very cordial with each other.

Parry Shen (Brad Cooper) ~ Years ago, Parry and I had a little Twitter spat, but that is behind us and we are always very cordial with each other.

Sonya Eddy (Epiphany Johnson) ~ Sonya made her FCW return after a long absence to much fanfare. She had a fairly long line the entire day. Such a great lady.

Sonya Eddy (Epiphany Johnson) ~ Sonya made her FCW return after a long absence to much fanfare. She had a fairly long line the entire day. Such a great lady.

Teresa Castillo (Sabrina Santiago) ~ I was glad Teresa came and stayed for the meet & greet. The previous afternoon, she did not remain past the Q&A at her own event, the Clinic Party.

Teresa Castillo (Sabrina Santiago) ~ I was glad Teresa came and stayed for the meet & greet. The previous afternoon, she did not remain past the Q&A at her own event, the Clinic Party.

Laura Wright (Carly Jacks) ~ I just barely managed to catch Laura on her way out. Not sure where she was running to, I ran into down in the parking garage quite a while later, at which time I helped her tidy up her car a bit. She rewarded me with her collection of valet claim tickets.

Laura Wright (Carly Jacks) ~ I just barely managed to catch Laura on her way out. Not sure where she was running to, I ran into down in the parking garage quite a while later, at which time I helped her tidy up her car a bit. She rewarded me with her collection of valet claim tickets.

Jeffrey Vincent Parise (Carlos Rivera) ~ Eh, not one of my favorites onscreen, Jeff has always been nice to me in person.

Jeffrey Vincent Parise (Carlos Rivera) ~ Eh, not one of my favorites onscreen, Jeff has always been nice to me in person.

Ryan Paevey (Nathan West) ~ Attending his first FCW luncheon, Ryan's line stretched out of the room and into the hallway for most of the day.

Ryan Paevey (Nathan West) ~ Attending his first FCW luncheon, Ryan’s line stretched out of the room and into the hallway for most of the day.

And with that, I had gotten to see everyone I had not already seen that weekend or would not later be seeing, with the exception of Maurice Benard, Bryan Craig, and Maura West. Maurice was in a rare mood, and was an absolute delight with the fans, actually laughing and smiling for photographs. And Maura, well let’s just say that Maura was feeling no pain that afternoon, not even when she fell down on her way out.

Immediately following the luncheon, illustrious GH photographer Jim Warren held the Sonny & Sons event with Maurice, Chad, and Bryan; and Kathleen Gati teamed up with Sonya Eddy to celebrate Gati’s birthday and 3rd anniversary with GH. Later that night, Vinessa Antoine’s event ran back to back with Jason Thompson & Dominic Zamprogna’s annual event with special guest Emme Rylan. I went to the latter event, as the trio’s NJ event in June was canceled at the last minute. They started with autographs and photos to ensure that the fans got everything they wanted. Emme took forever doing that because she’s such a sweetheart and spent so much time with everyone. Meanwhile, Dom & Jason began the Q&A. It was a nice event, funny trio, and somehow I managed to stay awake and present for the duration of the event.

Jason Thompson (Dr. Patrick Drake) ~ It's been about 3 years since I've seen Jason, and I was so happy to finally be able to tell him that he's patriarch material. Still a young guy, but he fills the void left behind by John Beradino, John Ingle, and Stuart Damon.

Jason Thompson (Dr. Patrick Drake) ~ It’s been about 3 years since I’ve seen Jason, and I was so happy to finally be able to tell him that he’s patriarch material. Still a young guy, but he fills the void left behind by John Beradino, John Ingle, and Stuart Damon.

Emme Rylan (Lulu Spencer-Falconeri) ~ Emme and I always spend so much time chatting that I'm afraid we're going to get yelled at by the event coordinators and my fellow fans.

Emme Rylan (Lulu Spencer-Falconeri) ~ Emme and I always spend so much time chatting that I’m afraid we’re going to get yelled at by the event coordinators and my fellow fans.

Dominic Zamprogna (Dante Falconeri) ~ As with Jason, I haven't see Dom since 2012, so I really needed an updated photo with him, and it's my favorite to date. The only one where he's smiling.

Dominic Zamprogna (Dante Falconeri) ~ As with Jason, I haven’t see Dom since 2012, so I really needed an updated photo with him, and it’s my favorite to date. The only one where he’s smiling.

When the event concluded around 12:30 AM, I headed back to my room and quickly went to bed. I didn’t have any events until the afternoon on Sunday, so I was looking forward to sleeping in for a change.

Part One (Thursday): https://ericscelebrityencounters.wordpress.com/2015/08/12/general-hospital-fan-club-weekend-2015-part-1/

Part Two (Friday): https://ericscelebrityencounters.wordpress.com/2015/08/13/general-hospital-fan-club-weekend-2015-part-2-2/

Part Four (Sunday): https://ericscelebrityencounters.wordpress.com/2015/08/13/general-hospital-fan-club-weekend-2015-part-4/

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

