General Hospital Fan Club Weekend 2015- Part 4

Damn, did it feel good to sleep in on Sunday morning. I opted not to go to either of the morning events. One was past cast member Greg Vaughan’s and the other was the recently fired Michael Easton’s. I’ve met Greg plenty of times before and I got Michael last year and didn’t find him to be worth writing home about. So I saved up my money and energy for what turned out to be my favorite event of the weekend, the Donna Mills event.

Added on fairly late in the game by Debby O’Connor, this was Donna’s first ever solo event in her 50+ year career. Held in the rooftop bar of the Hilton, Donna was right on time and did a very brief Q&A, maybe only 5 or 6 questions. She then went into another room, the lounge area of the bar, a very intimate living room type setting. Fans were then brought into that room in groups of 5, I was in the second group, luckily with friends, which meant not one of us was stealing the show from the other. For 20 minutes, I sat in an armchair next to Donna as she spoke of GH, Knots Landing, Play Misty for Me, and the many costars she has shared the screen with over the years. It was a moment that I never in a million years even dreamed of. And to clear the air and set the record straight, Donna was not charging for autographs. At least not directly anyway. 8x10s were available for purchase at $25 and any items you may have brought from home were $15. However, there was an open bar at the event, so you could easily drink away any autograph fee you may have incurred.

Donna Mills (Madeline Reeves) ~ Quite the enviable photo from the entire weekend if I may say so myself. If you check out Donna's Twitter, she graciously posted it as well.

Donna Mills (Madeline Reeves) ~ Quite the enviable photo from the entire weekend if I may say so myself. If you check out Donna’s Twitter, she graciously posted it as well.

While everyone else headed over to Kelly Monaco’s event, I took a little break from everything up in my room. I love Kelly to death, but I’ve seen her so many times. You have to make cuts somewhere. My break was short-lived and I went down to the Hilton lobby bar for my last event of the weekend, Bradford Anderson, Brandon Barash, and Kirsten Storms. I know I’ve seen these three about a million times too, but Kirsten is one of my favorites and I rarely miss any of her events. The event was their typical evening, games, laughs, and free flowing whiskey shots.

Brandon Barash (Johnny Zacchara) ~ I really don't have much to say about Brandon. When you've seen him as many times as I have, it's just like seeing an old friend.

Brandon Barash (Johnny Zacchara) ~ I really don’t have much to say about Brandon. When you’ve seen him as many times as I have, it’s just like seeing an old friend.

Kirsten Storms (Maxie Jones) ~ Kirsten and I don't see each other often, but thanks to Twitter, we're constantly in the loop in each other's lives. I always told her she was the sister I never had.

Kirsten Storms (Maxie Jones) ~ Kirsten and I don’t see each other often, but thanks to Twitter, we’re constantly in the loop in each other’s lives. I always told her she was the sister I never had.

Bradford Anderson (Damian Spinelli) ~ Like with Brandon, Bradford is just an old friend who I always snap a picture with when I see him.

Bradford Anderson (Damian Spinelli) ~ Like with Brandon, Bradford is just an old friend who I always snap a picture with when I see him.

And just as quickly as it snuck up on me in the first place, FCW was all over. For me anyways. While Kirsten taught me how to use Periscope, the Karaoke Party got into full swing over at the Embassy. Hosted by Kristen Alderson, Ryan Carnes, Marc Anthony Samuel, and Parry Shen, the Karaoke Party is hit or miss when it comes to meeting the cast. I went one year and I think they had 15 actors present. This year, they just had four. Glad I didn’t attend, I needed to save my energy for Disneyland the next day, which I skipped Rick Hearst’s event to get on the road for. Rick’s was the only event on Monday, the last of FCW.

I just want to wrap up by giving a heartfelt thanks to Debbie Morris, President of the GH Fan Club. Debbie made a huge family sacrifice to attend this year’s event, and quite honestly, I’m not sure if it would have stood without her there. It’s no easy task to put bring the entire GH community together for 5 days, but somehow she does it tirelessly year after year. Thank you, Debbie. Also deserving of thanks and recognition are Debbie’s longtime right hands, yes, she has a number of them, Linda Howard, Michelle DeMoss, Claire Mullan, Lynna & Ron Strickland, and everyone else on her staff; Jim Warren and his lovely assistants, Kimberly, Maxine, Gail, and Kimistry; Debby & John O’Connor of YourNumberOneFan and CJ and Angela; Sheri Evans of SoapStarEvents; the staffs at both the Hilton and the Embassy Suites; David and Matt, both great bartenders with a heavy pour; the staff at Conrad’s, our watering hole for the week; my fellow fans; Frank Valentini; and of course, the amazing cast of General Hospital.

Part One (Thursday): https://ericscelebrityencounters.wordpress.com/2015/08/12/general-hospital-fan-club-weekend-2015-part-1/

Part Two (Friday): https://ericscelebrityencounters.wordpress.com/2015/08/13/general-hospital-fan-club-weekend-2015-part-2-2/

Part Three (Saturday): https://ericscelebrityencounters.wordpress.com/2015/08/13/general-hospital-fan-club-weekend-2015-part-3/

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

