Rupert Jee

As a longtime fan of the Late Show with David Letterman, I’m surprised I have not visited the famed Hello Deli sooner. Neighbor to the Ed Sullivan Theater, Rupert Jee first appeared alongside Letterman in 1993 and would go on to make more than 200 appearances. It was mid-morning on September 14th when I had some time before another event, so I walked on over to the Hello Deli and found Rupert himself behind the register. He recommended the egg salad and when I took him up on it, he said, “Oh shoot, have a seat, I have to make some.” Since the hoopla of Letterman’s retirement last spring has calmed down, the Hello Deli was nice and quiet and I was able to chat quite a bit with Rupert. He is exactly the same in person as he is portrayed on TV. From the minute I walked in the door, he treated me as if I was a daily customer.

Rupert Jee ~Longtime Late Show with David Letterman cast member

Rupert Jee ~Longtime Late Show with David Letterman cast member

I definitely plan on returning to visit Rupert Jee at the Hello Deli in the future. That egg salad was the best I have ever had.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

