Monster-Mania Con 32

I guess you could say I was feeling a little restless for some new autographs. On a whim and not feeling like sitting home in the rain all weekend, I decided to drive down to Hunt Valley, Maryland for Monster-Mania Con 32. I’ve never been to MMC’s Maryland incarnation, but it is only an hour further than the Cherry Hill show, so I figured, let’s give it a try. As usual with MMC, the prices here are the lowest of the area cons, so the drive is well worth it.

I only went down for a few names- Halloween franchise personnel Alan Howarth, Tony Moran, and Don Shanks; Pet Sematary stars Miko Hughes and Dale Midkiff; and the show’s headliner Matthew Lillard, star of Scream and Scooby-Doo. I also wanted my mother to meet the always lovely Dee Wallace, star of E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial, Rob Zombie’s Halloween, and most recently General Hospital. No one had lines, so I was quickly able to get everyone while my mother held a spot in the never-ending line for Matthew Lillard. He was having a great time, and while most of the headliners would have turned things into a cattle run at this point, Matthew never did. Of course, he took his 90 minute lunch break while I only had maybe 10 people ahead of me, but we made a friend in the line and he held our spot while we went over to see Dee Wallace. Matthew returned and immediately wanted to take all the kids in his line first, he had been doing this all day. However, the MMC staff made sure that those of us who had waited for hours were taken care of first.

Tony Moran ~ Tony, who briefly appears in the original Halloween as the unmasked Michael Myers, told us that me managed to keep his appearance in the film a secret from his family until 2005 when his sister, Happy Days star Erin Moran, saw him appearing at the Chiller Theatre Expo in NJ.

Tony Moran ~ Tony, who briefly appears in the original Halloween as the unmasked Michael Myers, told us that me managed to keep his appearance in the film a secret from his family until 2005 when his sister, Happy Days star Erin Moran, saw him appearing at the Chiller Theatre Expo in NJ.

Alan Howarth ~ I saw the Halloween franchise composer at Chiller back in the fall of 2014, but I didn't get him for a reason unknown to me. Strangely, when I walked over to him and bought a copy of the Halloween II soundtrack, Howarth said,

Alan Howarth ~ I saw the Halloween franchise composer at Chiller back in the fall of 2014, but I didn’t get him for a reason unknown to me. Strangely, when I walked over to him and bought a copy of the Halloween II soundtrack, Howarth said, “Get me now while I’m still here. You never know which one of us will be next to go just like Piper.” Of course he was referring to circuit regular Roddy Piper who died suddenly over the summer.

Dale Midkiff ~ While not commonly associated with Dallas, Midkiff portrayed Jock Ewing in the 1986 TV movie, Dallas: The Early Years, so I just had to add him to the collection. I as close to getting an 8x10 of him with Pet Sematary costar Fred Gwynne, aka Herman Munster, but I opted for a generic headshot instead. Midkiff also appeared in a great Hallmark movie with Lisa Hartman and Rue McClanahan, Back to You and Me.

Dale Midkiff ~ While not commonly associated with Dallas, Midkiff portrayed Jock Ewing in the 1986 TV movie, Dallas: The Early Years, so I just had to add him to the collection. I was close to getting an 8×10 of him with Pet Sematary costar Fred Gwynne, aka Herman Munster, but I opted for a generic headshot instead. Midkiff also appeared in a great Hallmark movie with Lisa Hartman and Rue McClanahan, Back to You and Me.

Miko Hughes ~ It took Miko a little longer than the other guests to arrive, but when he finally made it, it was well worth it. While there for his roles in Pet Sematary and Wes Craven's New Nightmare, I know Miko for his role of Aaron Bailey, the rude classmate of Michelle Tanner on Full House. We spoke about Fred Gwynne, who Miko said was like a grandfather to the cast of Pet Sematary.

Miko Hughes ~ It took Miko a little longer than the other guests to arrive, but when he finally made it, it was well worth it. While there for his roles in Pet Sematary and Wes Craven’s New Nightmare, I know Miko for his role of Aaron Bailey, the rude classmate of Michelle Tanner on Full House. We spoke about Fred Gwynne, who Miko said was like a grandfather to the cast of Pet Sematary.

Don Shanks ~ Having met both Shanks and Tony Moran today, I have officially met every incarnation of Michael Myers. Shanks, who held the role in Halloween 5: The Revenge of Michael Myers, was quick to remind me that come next year, I'd have another one to meet. Ah yes, the con was abuzz in regards to the latest Halloween sequel, Halloween Returns. Shanks also played Nakoma, the Native American friend to Dan Haggerty in The Life and Times of Grizzly Adams.

Don Shanks ~ Having met both Shanks and Tony Moran today, I have officially met every incarnation of Michael Myers. Shanks, who held the role in Halloween 5: The Revenge of Michael Myers, was quick to remind me that come next year, I’d have another one to meet. Ah yes, the con was abuzz in regards to the latest Halloween sequel, Halloween Returns. Shanks also played Nakoma, the Native American friend to Dan Haggerty in The Life and Times of Grizzly Adams.

Matthew Lillard ~ And last but not least, the show's headliner, Matthew Lillard. Being a child of the 90s, I cannot even begin to list his credits. Matthew himself summed it up best bringing 8x10s from only two films- Scream and Scooby-Doo. Matthew was great with the fans and enjoyed his experience. I'm sure we'll see him at another show some time soon.

Matthew Lillard ~ And last but not least, the show’s headliner, Matthew Lillard. Being a child of the 90s, I cannot even begin to list his credits. Matthew himself summed it up best bringing 8x10s from only two films- Scream and Scooby-Doo. Matthew was great with the fans and enjoyed his experience. I’m sure we’ll see him at another show some time soon.

So while I wasn’t out of there and back on the road as quickly as I had hoped, I had a great time and added some neat new pieces to the collection. And I even had the chance to visit with convention circuit legends Tom Atkins and Charles Cyphers, both of whom I spent the weekend with back in 2012 at the big Jamie Lee Curtis show in Indianapolis. Those two guys are like a comedy act. I also made a visit to Cracker Barrel on the ride home, so that was a huge plus. As I always say in regards to MMC, it’s a hit or miss whether I can attend or not, so I look forward to the next one, whenever that may be!!!

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “Monster-Mania Con 32”

  1. Ray Morse says :

    Hello! Out of curiosity, do you recall what Matthew Lillard was charging at this Monster Mania? I ask because he’ll be appearing again next month and I need to start planning ahead. Getting some artwork commissioned for him to sign and need to have a general idea of what to expect from him.

    I really need to go to one of the Maryland MM Cons. I’ve been attending the Cherry Hill one since MM Con 2 but never ventured out to the other states. Looks like the show was a blast!

Leave a Reply

