Frankie Avalon

On October 6th, I made a visit to one of my favorite places in Bergen County, Bookends in Ridgewood. I’ve attended countless signings here for over a decade now, but I’ll admit, it’s been over a year since my last visit! Being back in the area now though, I plan on visiting much more often.

Tonight’s 6 o’clock signing was with the great Frankie Avalon, the singer, former teen idol, and star of the Beach Party films and Grease, who signed his new book, Frankie Avalon’s Italian Family Cookbook: From Mom’s Kitchen to Mine and Yours. Mr. Avalon arrived quite early, but the event still started promptly at 6 o’clock. He came in and did a brief talk, introduced longtime friend Tom Austin of the Royal Teens, and then began signing. I’d say there were no less than 50 people there, yet the line moved quite quickly. I brought along the DVD cover from one of my favorite films, Back to the Beach, which Frankie signed. He said, “Ah, you’re from that generation of fans! Great movie, and a pretty star studded cast.”

Frankie Avalon signing for me. In addition to his new book, he also graciously signed my Back to the Beach DVD cover.

Frankie Avalon signing for me. In addition to his new book, he also graciously signed my Back to the Beach DVD cover.

Frankie insisted on fans coming behind the table for photos, sparing us from the dreaded lean-in photos.

Frankie insisted on fans coming behind the table for photos, sparing us from the dreaded lean-in photos.

Overall, Frankie was a true gentleman and the fans were all extremely considerate of one another. A special thanks to Frankie, looking great at 75, and Walter & the team at Bookends. I hope to be back there again real soon!!!

Tags:

Leave a Reply

