General Hospital Fan Club Weekend 2016- Part 1

Pretty much anyone who knows me knows that I have just returned from what my Twitter followers call the most annoying weeekend of my life, the annual General Hospital Fan Club Weekend, the time my Twitter timeline is filled with the pictures you are about to see below. This was our second year at the Embassy Suites in Glendale, with a few overflow events being held offsite at adjacent hotels and restaurants. There were 21 events this year, as well as two private events, which is pretty much the same as last year. I think I did a record low of seven events, but was able to see pretty much all of the actors over the course of the weekend.

The first event of the weekend was Thursday evening, aptly titled the Kick Off Cocktail Party. Technically, this event was not the real kick off, as William deVry & Ryan Paevey opted to host their event prior to it. When this event moved from Sportsmen’s to Embassy, actor attendance was slashed in half. Last year, just 11 stars came. This year was not much better with 12. The waiting game wasn’t that bad though and I was done by 9:20 (The event had begun promptly at 7:00). Attending stars were Risa Dorken (Amy), Chad Duell (Michael), Hayley Erin (Kiki), Chloe Lanier (Nelle), Eden McCoy (Josslyn), Lilly Melgar (Lily), Marc Anthony Samuel (Felix), Donnell Turner (Curtis), Robert Palmer Watkins (Dillon), Hudson West (Jake), Laura Wright (Carly), and Dominic Zamprogna (Dante). I’d be seeing Robert at his own event the following evening, so I skipped him, and walked away with five new actors, a nice dent in my needs for the weekend.

DSCN3428 - Copy

Hudson West (Jake Spencer) ~ Hudson was the first of the actors to arrive, actually early!!! He gave out 8×10 headshots, which I have always said is an easy way into any GHFCW attendee’s heart.

DSCN3431 - Copy

Chloe Lanier (Nelle) ~ Chloe has yet to air as Nelle, but she is no stranger to GH fans as she played the role of a Young Pat Spencer in two episodes back in 2015. She made a great impression last year and in person this year, so I look forward to seeing her on our screens soon.

DSCN3435 - Copy

Lilly Melgar (Lily Rivera Corinthos) ~ A nice treat was seeing Lilly, a past cast member, come out and greet the fans. It’s always nice when an actor recognizes their roots and remembers the fans.

DSCN3437 - Copy

Marc Anthony Samuel (Felix DuBois) ~ I’ve met Marc just a handful of times and not only does he remember my name, but made it a point to follow me on Instagram. These little gestures of recognition go a long way with the fans.

DSCN3440 - Copy

Risa Dorken (Amy Driscoll) ~ Another newbie is the lovely Risa Dorken, whose bubbly personality reminded me a lot of her character Amy’s. Risa was an absolute sweetheart and seemed to genuinely enjoy being there.

DSCN3443 - Copy

Eden McCoy (Josslyn Jacks) ~ As I told this lovely young lady, I have always been partial to a Jacks. Unfortunately, Eden was seated next to the massive line of Donnell Turner, and I’m afraid some fans may have missed seeing her.

DSCN3446 - Copy

Laura Wright (Carly Corinthos) ~ I just happened to be near the door when Laura arrived, or else I probably wouldn’t have been able to brave her line. Out of all the times we’ve met, this may be one of my favorite photo ops.

DSCN3447 - Copy

Hayley Erin (Kiki Jerome) ~ I knew I would be seeing Hayley at her event the next night, but how can anyone possibly turn down a photo with this beauty???

DSCN3448 - Copy

Donnell Turner (Curtis Ashford) ~ Quite possibly the longest line I stood on all weekend was Donnell’s. You may not realize it, but this man is extremely admired by the GH fanbase and he took the time with each and every fan to let them know he admires them too.

DSCN3450 - Copy

Dominic Zamprogna (Dante Falconeri) ~ I could be wrong, but I think I have a photo with Dominic from every year I’ve been attending. He’s one of the more quiet, reserved stars, but he never misses an event.

DSCN3453 - Copy

Chad Duell (Michael Quartermaine) ~ Another star who I believe I have a yearly photo with, I caught Chad on his way out and it’s a good thing too, because he did not attend Saturday’s Main Event.

All in all, it was a successful evening and seeing the five new actors would be a nice sigh of relief come Saturday’s Main Event.

Part Two (Friday): https://ericscelebrityencounters.wordpress.com/2016/08/04/general-hospital-fan-club-weekend-2016-part-2/

Part Three (

Part Three (Saturday): https://ericscelebrityencounters.wordpress.com/2016/08/04/general-hospital-fan-club-weekend-2016-part-3/

Part Four (Sunday): https://ericscelebrityencounters.wordpress.com/2016/08/04/general-hospital-fan-club-weekend-2016-part-4/

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

