General Hospital Fan Club Weekend 2016- Part 3

I woke up bright and early on Saturday morning to prepare for the flagship FCW event, the Main Cast Event. Again, the attendance was significantly smaller than last year, I believe dropping down to 260.

As tradition would have it, the cast had quit a difficult time assembling themselves for the introductions. A new face, well old face really, took the role of emcee this year – the great Kin Shriner (Scott). 39 actors attended, with reportedly seven confirmed actors being no-shows. Donning his Bob Hope jacket, Kin humorously introduced his castmates to much fanfare. Stars in attendance were (in alphabetical order) Vinessa Antoine (Jordan), Maurice Benard (Sonny), Rebecca Budig (Hayden), Matt Cohen (Griffin), Bryan Craig (Morgan), John DeLuca (Aaron), William deVry (Julian), Risa Dorken (Amy), Michael Easton (Finn), Sonya Eddy (Epiphany), Hayley Erin (Kiki), Kathleen Gati (Obrecht), Nancy Lee Grahn (Alexis), Carolyn Hennesy (Diane), Roger Howarth (Franco), Wally Kurth (Ned), Chloe Lanier (Nelle), Jon Lindstrom (Kevin), Lisa LoCicero (Olivia), Eden McCoy (Josslyn), Kelly Monaco (Sam), Anthony Montgomery (Andre), Ryan Paevey (Nathan), Jeffrey Vincent Parise (Joe), Haley Pullos (Molly), Emme Rylan (Lulu), Marc Anthony Samuel (Felix), Brytni Sarpy (Valerie), Parry Shen (Brad), Michelle Stafford (Nina), Kirsten Storms (Maxie) and daughter Harper Rose Barash (Georgie), James Patrick Stuart (Valentin), Donnell Turner (Curtis), Robert Palmer Watkins (Dillon), Hudson West (Jake), Dominic Zamprogna (Dante), and lastly, the leader of the pack, Executive Producer Frank Valentini.

As opposed to doing a tradition Q&A, Kin asked one question – What did you do before joining GH? Each actor answered, many of the responses were quite comical, and then cue the chaos – the meet & greet. I only needed four of the attendees – Cohen, DeLuca, Montgomery, and Stuart. Montgomery bailed at the completion of the Q&A leaving me with just three names to get, an easy feat. Once I finished up with the new guys, it was off to see old favorites, all of whom were added bonuses at this point. It seemed like the cast had a variety of excuses for leaving early this year, so as the number of actors dwindled down, the remaining lines grew longer.

DSCN3538 - Copy

John DeLuca (Aaron Roland) ~ With the absence of Lexi Ainsworth, John flew solo, but he certainly had a bevy of beauties at his disposal.

DSCN3540 - Copy

Matt Cohen (Griffin Munro) ~ When Matt announced he had to leave early for his son’s 1st birthday party, someone asked how old…

DSCN3547 - Copy

James Patrick Stuart (Valentin Cassadine) ~ James and I shared a laugh when he told me he had accidentally written “Will” under his autograph on someone’s photo, a reference to his All My Children character from nearly 30 years ago.

DSCN3542 - Copy

Lisa LoCicero (Olivia Falconeri) ~ It’s been a couple of years since I saw Lisa, but I’m glad I was able to finally get her on a photo I had here in the archives.

DSCN3543 - Copy

Parry Shen (Brad Cooper) ~ Another actor I’ve met just a handful of times, Parry always goes that extra mile and calls fans by their first name.

DSCN3545 - Copy

Michelle Stafford (Nina Reeves) ~ Stunning? Timeless? Gorgeous? Pick the adjective that best describes Michelle. Honestly, there are just too many.

DSCN3549 - Copy

Haley Pullos (Molly Lansing) ~ Haley is another one who I get an annual photo with. I’m happy to say, we have improved drastically over the years.

DSCN3551 - Copy

Vinessa Antoine (Jordan Ashford) ~ I caught Vinessa just as she was packing up to leave. A little blurry, but she’d look great no matter what.

DSCN3552 - Copy

Carolyn Hennesy (Diane Miller) ~ Carolyn hasn’t attended the Main Event in quite a few years, so it was good to see her again.

DSCN3554 - Copy

Sonya Eddy (Epiphany Johnson) ~ No matter how much time will pass between Sonya and I seeing each other, we share a laugh no matter what. I always look forward to having that moment with her.

DSCN3556 - Copy

Kathleen Gati (Dr. Liesl Obrecht) ~ My sentiments are echoed every single time I see this lovely woman, she is a genuine sweetheart. Her and her husband, Michael, have embedded themselves in the heart of GHFCW attendees.

DSCN3561 - Copy

Wally Kurth (Ned Ashton) ~ It’s always great to see this longtime GH mainstay, and current patriarch of my favorite family, the Quartermaines. I know I speak for many when I say I hope to see him back on our screens soon.

DSCN3563 - Copy

Bryan Craig (Morgan Corinthos) ~ Bryan was in a bit of a hurry when I got to him, so we didn’t have time to talk investments, but being around the same age, we’re constantly discussing retirement, even though it is a long way off!!!

DSCN3564 - Copy

Jon Lindstrom (Dr. Kevin Collins) ~ It’s been great having Doc back in the middle of the story on GH, but it was even better getting to see Jon in person again. I think he and Wally both were a bit taken aback by the fanfare they received.

DSCN3567 - Copy

William deVry (Julian Jerome) ~ Will and I were in rare form. Not only did he smile for our photo, I bought an 8×10 off his table. I think we’re on the fast track to friendship.

DSCN3570 - Copy

Ryan Paevey (Nathan West) ~ I don’t know why it works out this way, but Ryan is usually the last star I see. For one, it goes to show you that he sticks around until the last fan is gone.

wp-1470625119228.jpg

Hayley Erin (KIki Jerome) ~ How could I leave without getting a daily photo with Hayley? I handed her my phone and let her go crazy taking selfies.

I had about an hour break to rest before my next event – Kin Shriner & Maura West. If there’s one event during GHFCW that will make you laugh so hard you nearly cry, it is this one. Following in his father’s footsteps, Kin is a comedian at heart, and Maura is the perfect comic foil. Celebrating his 39th anniversary with GH, there was no shortage of age jokes. The stories were great, the jokes were great, the fans were great, and the talent was great. Easily, my pick for the best event of the weekend, even though Kin went home with two of my Sharpie markers.

DSCN3586 - Copy

Maura West (Ava Jerome) & Kin Shriner (Scott Baldwin) ~ It’s no secret that Kin is my favorite male actor on GH, so Maura definitely scored some points with me by seeing the potential goldmine a Scotty/Ava pairing could be.

And while everyone else headed off to see Kathleen Gati and later to Michael Easton & Roger Howarth’s One Night Only event, I headed out to eat and wind down from another awesome day.

Part One (Thursday): https://ericscelebrityencounters.wordpress.com/2016/08/03/general-hospital-fan-club-weekend-2016-part-1/

Part Two (Friday): https://ericscelebrityencounters.wordpress.com/2016/08/04/general-hospital-fan-club-weekend-2016-part-2/

Part Four (Sunday): https://ericscelebrityencounters.wordpress.com/2016/08/04/general-hospital-fan-club-weekend-2016-part-4/

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

