Monster-Mania Con 34

It’s hard to believe it has been over two weeks since I made my semi-annual, two-hour trek down to Cherry Hill, NJ for Monster-Mania Con, Philadelphia’s premier horror film & memorabilia convention. Definitely NJ’s most affordable show, the drive is worthwhile for prices alone. I usually hope to score at least five names, and with the addition early on of the Halloween 6 cast, there were five names alone guaranteeing my presence at the event. Any other additions would be a nice added bonus.

Headlining the show this time around was the iconic Robert Englund, star of course of the Nightmare on Elm Street film series. While I’ve never scored a photo op with Robert, I do have the autograph, so I opted to skip his long and slow moving line.¬†Other guests included Tom Atkins, Charles Cyphers (his “final” convention appearance), Ric Flair, Lee Majors, and Tara Reid, just to name a few, many of which I have already met and obtained autographs and photos.

When I arrived promptly at 10 AM, the main signing room was pretty bare, but the guests began trickling in not long after. My main wants, the cast of Halloween 6, had not yet arrived aside from George P. Wilbur, whom I met at a previous Monster-Mania Con.

DSCN3604

Curtis Armstrong ~ A draw for his work in the Revenge of the Nerds film series, Moonlighting, Risky Business, and more recently Supernatural, Curtis and I chatted about a lesser known 90s film he appeared in, Big Bully with Rick Moranis, Tom Arnold, Julianne Phillips, and Don Knotts.

DSCN3605

Amanda Bearse ~ Horror shows book her for her role in Fright Night, but it’s her long-running role on Married…with Children that draws the fans to her. Amanda actually did one of the smartest things I’ve ever seen in my years attending shows. She had a tall, stationary fan to her table that she used to dry photos after signing. With the humidity levels so high that weekend, it was a very smart move.

At this point, the rest of the Halloween 6 cast had arrived, and I became one of their first customers. Having these cast members sitting together made it quite convenient for me, and it also enabled a lively chat and engagement between us all.

DSCN3608

Devin Gardner ~ Danny Strode in Halloween 6: The Curse of Michael Myers

DSCN3609

Marianne Hagan ~ Kara Strode in Halloween 6: The Curse of Michael Myers

DSCN3610

Susan Swift ~ Nurse Mary in Halloween 6: The Curse of Michael Myers

DSCN3611

J.C. Brandy ~ Jamie Lloyd in Halloween 6: The Curse of Michael Myers

DSCN3612

Mariah O’Brien ~ Beth in Halloween 6: The Curse of Michael Myers

After I finished up with all my wants for the day, I walked by Adrienne Barbeau’s table and noticed she had an 8×10 that I’ve never seen her bring to any shows before – one from her deleted scenes in Rob Zombie’s Halloween. I just had to have it.

DSCN3613

Adrienne Barbeau ~ I’ve met Adrienne a bunch of times, and really, how could one ever pass up seeing her? She’s a natural fan favorite, and she has a lengthy list of credits and roles that she is recognizable for – Maude, The Fog, Escape from New York, The Cannonball Run, Batman: The Animated Series, Carnivale, and General Hospital.

So in about an hour and a half’s time, I scored 8 names, 7 of which I had intended on, and found a nice surprise with that new Adrienne photo. The upcoming Monster-Mania show in October looks like a no-go for me, but I hope to make it back down to Cherry Hill in March for another great time!!!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

