NJ Horror Con

On Saturday, April 1, I was very excited to take the short trip to Edison for the New Jersey Horror Con and Film Festival. I believe this was a first-time show, and for a first-time show to bring in as many names as they did, it was a nice surprise and put it on my watch list from the day it was announced. While it was far from the other NJ horror themed shows, NJ Horror Con provided a much more intimate atmosphere, and far friendlier pricing structures. Admission was $25, and table combos did not seem to exceed $30.

I had already met a number of these stars – Michael Berryman, Rick Hearst, Matthew Lillard, Tony Moran, and Sharon Smyth-Lentz. It was the contingency of Back to the Future cast members that caught my eye. I had all four of the BTTF stars sign my copy of Back to the Future: The Ultimate Visual History, and I also got 8x10s from each of them for the collection.

Donald Fullilove (Mayor Goldie Wilson, BTTF; Goldie Wilson III, BTTF II) ~ Don, decked out in Mayor Goldie paraphernalia signed an 8×10 of his campaign advertisement for me.

Ricky Dean Logan (Rafe ‘Data’ Unger, BTTF II) ~ Ricky has a new short film out – Back to the 2015 Future, featuring many of the BTTF stars and sets. I’ve embedded it below for your viewing pleasure.

Harry Waters, Jr. (Marvin Berry, BTTF and BTTF II) ~ Harry came in costume, which was a great surprise and made for a terrific photo op. One of my all-time favorites!!!

Jeffrey Weissman (George McFly, BTTF II and BTTF III) ~ Jeffrey had some great, rare behind-the-scenes candids on his table. It was really nice chatting with him about each one.

17834079_1874653269441723_7373567416209844528_o

Kristanna Loken ~ I managed to score a free photo op while I was chatting up this lovely lady, star of Terminator 3, and the show’s official photographer snapped this shot. My fellow 90s sitcom aficionados will remember her as Jennifer Bassett, later Minkus, on “Boy Meets World” and “Girl Meets World“.

DSCN3908

And last, but certainly not least, my good friend, Rick Hearst. Appearing at this horror con due to his Brain Damage credit, the General Hospital star and I enjoyed catching up throughout the afternoon.

Overall, this was a nice, fresh show bringing several new names to NJ’s convention scene. NJ Horror Con has another show slated for September, and I hope to attend once again.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

