Nostalgia Fest Philly

Leaving the Great Philadelphia Comic Con, I headed straight for Bensalem and the inagural Nostalgia Fest Philly – featuring favorite stars from the 80s and 90s. The lineup was small featuring just a dozen stars – Gary Busey was the headliner and appeared behind a curtained off section of the room.

When I arrived I found what resembled a carnival type atmosphere outside, however once inside the venue, I found a quiet, almost abandoned banquet hall. All 12 of the talent sat along a wall in the front room of the venue. Not one of them had a line, and I quickly moved down the line obtaining my wants.

DSCN3915

Michael Winslow ~ The Police Academy franchise star was actually relatively quiet, a far cry from his Larvelle Jones character. He was very surprised I remembered a fire safety video he did back in 1996.

DSCN3916

Gedde Watanabe ~ I would have gotten Gedde when he appeared at Chiller in the past, however, he didn’t have any photos from his 7-season run on “ER.” So this time around, I brought along an 8×10 of Nurse Yosh Takata to add to the collection.

DSCN3917

Corbin Bernsen ~ The man is soap opera royalty, yet it’s taken me all of these years to finally meet him. While I knew him as John Durant on “General Hospital,” it was a photo of his “LA Law” character, Arnie Becker, that I chose for Corbin to sign.

DSCN3918

Chris Owen ~ I recently obtained quite a few cast members from the American Pie franchise, so here is another nice add to the collection – the Sherminator.

DSCN3919

Tia Carrere ~ I’ve met this beautiful “General Hospital” alum at Chiller in the past, however, I could never catch her posing for table photos. I was happy to see that today she was, and I also brought along one of her GH headshots to sign. She said she remembered me because I’m the only person who has ever had her sign anything GH related.

David Faustino, Dustin Diamond, and Dennis Haskins also appeared, but I’ve seen them in the past. Overall, I think I may have spent a half hour at this show. During the brief time I was there, I was one of less than a dozen fans collecting combos. The actors and their handlers outnumbered the collectors. It’s a shame that this show did not garner the attendance that it rightfully should have. Combo prices were extremely low – half of what they were over in Oaks, and a fraction of what they would be a few weeks later at Chiller.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

