Artimus Pyle

Growing up in the house of a Lynyrd Skynyrd fan, the name Artimus Pyle was like folklore. A man that has withstood the test of time and literally seen it all, I was pretty excited to hear he would be coming into work last week. Pyle was the band’s drummer from 1974-1977, and again from 1987-1991. He survived the ’77 plane crash, and was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame for his contribution in 2006.

The first night, I just wanted to feel him out, see how easy it would be to pull off a photo op and maybe an autograph. Artimus came in, was super cool, and we spoke for a little while. I decided I would make my move the next night. During the day, my coworker did a full-fledged photo shoot with him, so I knew it would be easy.

I pulled the first album I could find at the house, Gimme Back My Bullets, my dad’s original copy from 1976. Artimus came in, and I whipped the album and a Sharpie out before he even knew what hit him. He graciously signed, explained the liner notes that he had written for it, and suggested we take a photo together. It was an awesome success, and I was really happy with the result.

20170811_005652

Tags:

Leave a Reply

