General Hospital Fan Club Weekend 2017- Part 3

As is the norm, Saturday ended up being my longest day of the weekend with three back-to-back events, the first being the Main Event Luncheon. To allow the fans more one-on-one time with the actors during the autograph & photo session, the typical, hour-long Q&A was eliminated, much to my satisfaction. In years past, the actors talked for so long, the meet & greet would sometimes only run for an hour and a half, this year, we got two solid hours. With the Q&A eliminated, and therefore no stage, they were able to add additional tables to the room and sell more tickets than the past couple of years. I’d say attendance was no less than 250 fans.

While the actors assembled for their introduction, a mini Q&A was hosted by Maurice Benard, James DePaiva, Chad Duell, Michael Easton, Lisa LoCicero, Kin Shriner, and Dominic Zamprogna. This was perfect, as it was held while we were eating and did not interfere with the meet & greet time. Actor attendance overall was 29, down 10 from last year. Attending stars, in alphabetical order, were Lexi Ainsworth (Kristina), Maurice Benard (Sonny), Ryan Carnes (Lucas), Dioni Michelle Collins (Deanna), James DePaiva (David), William deVry (Julian), Risa Dorken (Amy), Chad Duell (Michael), Michael Easton (Finn), Hayley Erin (Kiki), Scarlett Fernandez (Charlotte), Kathleen Gati (Obrecht), Carolyn Hennesy (Diane), Ashley Jones (Parker), Wally Kurth (Ned), Chloe Lanier (Nelle), Lisa LoCicero (Olivia), Eden McCoy (Josslyn), Haley Pullos (Molly), Marc Anthony Samuel (Felix), Kin Shriner (Scott), Brooklyn Rae Silzer (Emma), Garren Stitt (Oscar), Kirsten Storms (Maxie), James Patrick Stuart (Valentin), Donnell Turner (Curtis), Robert Palmer Watkins (Dillon), Hudson West (Jake), and Dominic Zamprogna (Dante).

Needing to see just DePaiva, Jones, & Stitt, the meet & greet would be a breeze-through for me. DePaiva bolted after the introductions, leaving me with just two stars to see and everyone else being a nice added bonus.

DSCN4015

Sandy Masone ~ I first became friends with this veteran GH crew member back in 2011 when she gave me a studio tour. Sandy is the cast-proclaimed GH mascot, and a highlight of my weekend is seeing her.

DSCN4017

Lisa LoCicero “Olivia Quartermaine” ~ Being the Quartermaine fanboy that I am, I was very excited to get my first photo with Lisa since Olivia married Ned and took the Quartermaine name.

DSCN4019

Eden McCoy “Josslyn Jacks” ~ My favorite pairing of Carly’s was Jax, so naturally I would have a soft spot for Josslyn and her terrific actress, Eden, who I hope is around for many years to come.

DSCN4020

Garren Stitt “Oscar Nero” ~ Still new to the show, Oscar is a character who definitely brings a mystery with him. It was nice of Garren to attend still being so fresh and new to the world of GH fandom.

DSCN4023

Ashley Jones “Parker Forsyth” ~ I’ve had a crush on Ashley since I briefly watched Bold and the Beautiful in the late 2000s. I was very excited that she came, and meeting her did not disappoint. She is terrific.

DSCN4027 (2)

Brooklyn Rae Silzer “Emma Scorpio-Drake” ~ Brooklyn attends just about every year, so she was manning the Kids’ Table and showing Scarlett and Hudson the ropes.

DSCN4030

Lexi Ainsworth “Kristina Corinthos-Davis” ~ The last photo I have with Lexi, she’s wearing Victoria’s Secret pajamas (long story). Now she’s an Emmy winner!!!

DSCN4031

Kathleen Gati “Dr. Liesl Obrecht” ~ This was Kathleen’s fifth year attending, and I have a photo with her from each one. I always make the time to visit with her and her husband, Michael, who unfortunately had to work this year and could not attend with her.

DSCN4034

James Patrick Stuart “Valentin Cassadine” ~ When he attended last year, James had only appeared in a few episodes. This year, being in shows nearly every week, James had one of the longest lines that never seemed to die down.

DSCN4039

Kirsten Storms “Maxie Jones” ~ I have no idea who this woman is and why we took a photo together that was not a selfie and did not involve sticking our tongues out.

DSCN4042

Donnell Turner “Curtis Ashford” ~ Talk about a never-ending line. I would not be surprised if you told me Donnell was still in that ballroom a week later taking photos and signing autographs.

After accomplishing all I needed to from the Main Event, I enjoyed an edible meal at Conrad’s, next door to the Embassy, as the lunch they served up left a lot to be desired. I then went back to the hotel for the next event – 40 Years of Kin Shriner and Jacklyn Zeman. I attend Kin’s event every year, and I have attended all of Jackie’s east coast events. I love these two human beings. They are funny, compassionate, and share more history than dozens of their costars combined. While intended to be a celebration of 40 years, the event also acted as a tribute to Peter Hansen, Kin’s onscreen father, who we lost back in April. The memories were flowing, as was the celebratory champagne, and a delicious anniversary cake.

DSCN4052

Jacklyn Zeman “Bobbie Spencer” and Kin Shriner “Scott Baldwin” ~ I always look forward to seeing these two. The stories and laughs are always endless with Jackie and Kin.

DSCN4053

Kin recently moved into his own dressing room at the GH studio, and I gave him this When Worlds Collide movie poster to adorn the wall. The film starred GH icons Peter Hansen and Rachel Ames.

Immediately following Jackie & Kin’s event, I ran next door to Crab Ave, where a few of my favorite ladies were hosting a paint party. Full of laughs, paint, and drinks – Hayley Erin, Chloe Lanier, and Brytni Sarpy hosted this event, with special guest Camryn Grimes, and produced by the lovely Debby O’Connor of YourNumberOneFan.

DSCN4054

Camryn Grimes “Mariah Copeland on Young and the Restless” ~ Camryn is a good friend of the girls, so they invited her to come by, and I am glad she did. She was an absolute doll.

DSCN4055

Chloe Lanier “Nelle Hayes” ~ Chloe and I hit it off last year, and I had visited with her earlier in the day at the luncheon. Easily a favorite of mine to catch up with at these events.

DSCN4056

Brytni Sarpy “Valerie Spencer” ~ Brytni and I sat back to back during, and the inside jokes, under breath comments, eye rolls, and looks were flowing.

DSCN4057

Hayley Erin “Kiki Jerome” ~ She’s one of my favorites, and she knows it. She never spotted me during the luncheon, and was a bit worried, but she knew I would turn up sooner or later.

DSCN4058

My favorite trio.

Following the paint party, the majority of attendees went over to One Night Only with Michael Easton and Roger Howarth and their special guests Melissa Archer and Rebecca Budig, I called it a night.

Part One (Thursday): General Hospital Fan Club Weekend 2017- Part 1

Part Two (Friday): General Hospital Fan Club Weekend 2017- Part 2

Part Four (Sunday): General Hospital Fan Club Weekend 2017- Part 4

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

